Pratt Goes Undefeated to Repeat as Men's Tennis Champions

Pratt Goes Undefeated to Repeat as Men's Tennis Champions

FLUSHING, N.Y. – Regular season champions Pratt Institute successfully defended their title with a dominating performance producing all nine flight champions to repeat as Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference men's tennis champions on Saturday at the USTA Billy Jean King National Tennis Center.

Pratt assembled an unblemished regular season and won the maximum 27 points for their second straight title. The Cannoneers also captured the women's tennis championship this past fall and have won the past three women's titles.

The Cannoneers were led by overall singles champion junior Sergio Yarritu (The Woodlands, Texas) who capped an undefeated season in conference play at both singles and doubles. Yarritu teamed up with No. 4 singles champion John Imamoglu (Istanbul, Turkey) to take the top doubles championship with an 8-0 shutout.

Senior Moritz Petre (Middle Village, N.Y.) captured the No. 2 singles and joined No. 5 singles champion Andrew Barkett (Mansfield, Ohio) to win the No. 2 doubles title. The duo endured a scare from Sarah Lawrence in the semifinals winning in a tiebreaker to advance to the finals.

Rounding out flight champions for the Cannoneers was Eli Eskenazi (Aventura, Fla.) at No. 3 singles and Fan Mo (Beijing, China) at No. 6 singles who paired up at No. 3 doubles.

Guided by 2014 Coach of the Year Dennis Anderson, the Culinary Institute of America took home tournament runner-up honors finishing as finalists in six of the nine flights.

St. Joseph's College finished in third place, followed by Sarah Lawrence College and Webb Institute in a tie for fourth and Vaughn College rounding out the six-team field.

# # # 

2014 HVIAC Men's Tennis Championships

May 3, 2014
at USTA Billy Jean King National Tennis Center 

Full Results

Team Results

Champions – Pratt Institute (27 points)
2nd Place – Culinary (13 points)
3rd Place – St. Joseph's College (6 points)
4th Place (tie) – Sarah Lawrence College and Webb Institute (5 points)
6th Place – Vaughn College (1 points) 

Individual Flight Champions

#1 Singles – Sergio Yarritu (Pratt Institute)
#2 Singles – Moritz Petre (Pratt Institute)
#3 Singles – Eli Eskenazi (Pratt Institute)
#4 Singles – John Imamoglu (Pratt Institute)
#5 Singles – Andrew Barkett (Pratt Institute)
#6 Singles – Fan Mo (Pratt Institute)
#1 Doubles – Sergio Yarritu/John Imamoglu (Pratt Institute)
#2 Doubles – Moritz Petre/Andrew Barkett (Pratt Institute)
#3 Doubles – Eli Eskenazi/Fan Mo (Pratt Institute)

2014 All-Conference Team

Ahmed Aly Vaughn Fr. Astoria, N.Y.
Andrew Barkett * Pratt Jr. Mansfield, Ohio
Nate Currier Sarah Lawrence Sr. San Rafael, Calif.
Kyle Felker Culinary So. Bay City, Mich.
Nolan Parr St. Joseph's So. Red Hook, N.Y.
Mortiz Petre ^ Pratt Sr. Middle Village, N.Y.
Jeremy Sawyer Culinary So. Reno, Nev.
Rachel Walker Webb Sr.  
Elliott Warkus Sarah Lawrence Jr. Waimea, Hawaii
Sergio Yarritu
Pratt Jr. The Woodlands, Texas

* Denotes 2012 All-Conference Team Selection

Denotes 2011 All-Conference Team Selection