Berkeley College Claims Men's Tennis Championship

Berkeley College Claims Men's Tennis Championship

FLUSHING, N.Y.—In one of the closest men's tennis tournaments in league history, the Berkeley College Knights edged out the Culinary Institute of America Steels to capture the 2015 Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Men's Tournament title on Saturday afternoon at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.

The league newcomer Knights captured one flight championship with Omar Durrani and Sebastien Rousseau securing the No. 2 doubles title and advanced to the finals in five other flights to accumulate 16 points and taking a two-point victory over the Steels, who claimed runner up for the fifth straight year. The Steels produced three flight champions led by Jeremy Sawyer at No. 2 singles, Jonghee Lee at No. 3 singles and Zachary Bryant at No. 6 singles.

Regular season champion Pratt finished in third place, just four points behind the Knights led by Sergio Yarritu who took home the overall singles title for the second straight year and named the 2015 HVIAC Player of the Year. The senior also teamed up with Eli Eskenazi for the overall doubles title, two of four flight titles claimed by the two-time defending champion Cannoneers.

Rounding out the six-team tournament field were St. Joseph's College, Vaughn College led by No. 4 singles champion Ahmed Aly and Webb Institute.

# # # 

2015 HVIAC Men's Tennis Championships

May 2, 2015
at USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center 

Full Results

Team Results

Champions – Berkeley College (16 points)
2nd Place – Culinary Institute (14 points)
3rd Place – Pratt Institute (12 points)
4th Place  – St. Joseph's College (6 points)
5th Place – Vaughn College (4 points) 
6th Place – Webb Institute (3 points)

Individual Flight Champions

#1 Singles – Sergio Yarritu (Pratt Institute)
#2 Singles – Jeremy Sawyer (Culinary Institute)
#3 Singles – Jonghee Lee (Culinary Institute)
#4 Singles – Ahmed Aly (Vaughn College)
#5 Singles – Joshua Morgan (Pratt Institute)
#6 Singles – Zachary Bryant (Culinary Institute)
#1 Doubles – Sergio Yarritu/Eli Eskenazi (Pratt Institute)
#2 Doubles – Omar Durrani/Sebastien Rousseau (Berkeley College)
#3 Doubles – Nick Miniciello/Shane Davis (Pratt Institute)